The Terminator – SNES

Wow this game has issues.  I think the only redeeming quality of this game is the fact that it has a license to display “The Terminator” as the title and show a picture of Arnold on the start screen.

The graphics are OK for an SNES game… 2D side scrolling with the background giving some 3D effect. The game is very dark, which I get because the movie was so dark.  Terminators will creep out of the shadows, which is kinda cool.  The only useful move you have in the game is to duck.

terminator-snes

The amazing duck move!

Playing as the hero from the movie, Kyle Reese you are tasked with saving the future of mankind. And you must do this with only 4 squares of health.  And it goes quick!  One or two bullets from a Terminator and you lose a square of health.  Some of the Terminator bullets are impossible to be avoided.  Which is very annoying, even if you memorize when and where they pop out.

The music is bland and repetitive.  You will occasionally hear a moan in the background.  Maybe one of the terminators is having some fun in the shadows.  I hope something is having fun while playing this game. The track for the first level has something that sounds like a cowbell. You know what this track needs… MORE cowbell!

Needless to say I never made it to the second level so we will never know the excitement to come.   Some bad movie games like Time Cop have fantastic comedic value.  This bad movie game is just dull and too difficult.  Oh well… perhaps the sequel is superior, just like the movie.

minus-sign Too Difficult
minus-sign No way to prevent getting hit
minus-sign Bland music and sounds

About fattybunter

Modern PC Gamer who loves retro console games. I love building PC's, gaming with friends, being outside and drinking beer. Story behind my picture... I had a bunch of classic games living in the basement of my parents until recently. I powered up my NES and popped in Zelda II: The Adventure of Link. My game saves were ALL still there! The picture is funny because you can see how much further I got than my neighbor Jon and little sister Beth.

Leave a comment